Home | Bangalore | Bangalore City MLAs

Bangalore City MLAs

List Of Bangalore City MLAs. This article whenever neessary



List Of Bangalore City MLAs - Karnataka Election 2018


Bangalore, 11 November 2020

In the recent by-election, Munirathna Naidu won the RR Nagar seat for the BJP. Local sources say that his victory was less about what party he represented and more in recognition of his visible good work during the pandemic, which appealed greatly to the local electorate.


The following table is the corrected list of MLAs following the 2019 by-elections to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly following their resignations of 15 MLAs who walked out of the government. Of the 15 seats contested BJP won 12. (More details below in this article.)


Bangalore, 13 November 2019

The Supreme Court of India ruled that the 17 MLAs (14 from Bangalore) who had been disqualified by the Speaker of the State Assembly are allowed to contest elections. However, the apex court upheld Speaker's decision to disqualify the MLAs, whose resignations led to the fall of the previous government.

"In a parliamentary democracy, morality is equally binding on the government and the opposition," the Supreme Court said, upholding then Speaker's decision to disqualify the rebels in July.

AnekalB ShivannaCongress
B T M LayoutRamalinga ReddyCongress
Bangalore SouthKrishnappa MBJP
BasavanagudiRavi Subramanya L ABJP
BommanahalliSathish Reddy MBJP
ByatarayanapuraKrishna Byre GowdaCongress
C V Raman NagarS RaghuBJP
ChamrajpetZameer Ahmed Khan B ZCongress
ChickpetUday GarudacharBJP
DasarahalliR ManjunathaJDS
GandhinagarDinesh Gundu RaoCongress
GovindrajnagarV SomannaBJP
HebbalByrati SureshCongress
HosakoteMTB NagarajuCongress
JayanagarSowmya ReddyCongress
K R PuramBasavaraja Byrathi (Re-elected)BJP
MahadevpuraAravind LimbavaliBJP
Mahalakshmi LayoutK Gopalaiah (Re-elected)BJP
MalleshwaramDr Ashwath Narayan C NBJP
PadmanabhanagarAshoka RBJP
PulakeshinagarAkhanda Srinivasa Murthy RCongress
RajajinagarS Suresh KumarBJP
Rajarajeshwari NagarMunirathna NaiduBJP
Sarvagna NagarK J GeorgeCongress
ShanthinagarN A HarisCongress
ShivajinagarRizwan Arshad (Roshan Baig - Resigned)Congress
VijayanagarM KrishnappaCongress
YelahankaS R ViswanathBJP
YeshwanthpurS T Somashekar - (Re-elected)BJP


UPDATE: 14 MLAs disqualified by speaker. Five from Bangalore.

The following article has been edited to reflect those MLAs who were disqualified by the Speaker of the Assembly around the end of July in connection with the floor test that brought down the 14-month-old Congress-JD(S) government in Karnataka. Five MLAs from Bangalore were among those disqualified. “The disqualified MLAs cannot fight elections until the expiry of the term of the 15th assembly,” Ramesh Kumar told the media.

This is the revised list of Bangalore City MLAs from the 28 constituencies of Bangalore. This list has been compiled from various sources.

A reading of our article, Karnataka Election Bangalore Constituencies 2018 Winners (click here), will reveal that the mandate of the Bangalore constituencies clearly favoured the Congress. This article (click here) provides some interesting perspectives.

Updated list of Bangalore City MLAs

The following table was most recently updated on August 10, 2019.

**Vijayakumar B N  of the Jayanagar constituency passed away just before the elections. (According to a report in Times Of India, Bangalore May 04, 2018.  https://explo.in/2HShV6C)

On 31 May 2018, Munirathna, 49, of the Congress won the Rajarajeshwarinagar  constituency by defeating his rival Muniraju Gowda of the BJP by over 40,000 votes. The election in this constituency was held later than the 12 May 2018 polling date, when authorities discovered thousands of fake voter IDs relating to the constituency.

About the Karnataka Legislative Assembly

The Karnataka Legislative Assembly is the lower house of the bicameral legislature of Karnataka state in southern India. Karnataka is one of the seven states in India, where the state legislature is bicameral, comprising two houses. The two houses are the Vidhana Sabha (lower house) and the Vidhana Parishat (upper house).

The members of the Vidhana Sabha are directly elected by people through adult franchise. The members of the Vidhana Parishat are elected indirectly by members of local bodies, teachers and graduates.

There are 75 members of the Vidhana Parishat. Members of the Vidhana Parishat or Legislative Council normally have a term of six years, and are generally known as MLCs.

There are 224 members of the Vidhana Sabha or the Legislative Assembly of Karnataka state. One member is a representative of the Anglo-Indian community nominated by the Governor of Karnataka. The state of Karnataka is divided into 225 constituencies used to elect the Legislative assembly.

The next Assembly elections are scheduled for May 12, 2018. Check this page for an updated list of MLA following announcement of results, the deadline for announcement being May 18, 2018. Ballot counting is scheduled for 15 May, 2018. Check this site for a list of candidates: https://explo.in/2HVAHd2

UPDATE: List of winners of the Bangalore constituencies:




Related Articles
Would you like to submit your article to us or write for us? Click here and tell us about yourself.